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education, training, and experience to perform the
technique. Licensees must perform dry needling in
accordance with the prevailing standard of care
and follow the universal precautions outlined in
Board Rule 4734-8-08. See page 4 for information ==  FREE Online CE! oo
about education, training and experience and
standard of care.

You can earn the required 2 hours of Board
mandated CE FREE! Visit the Board’s website at

SO www.chirobd.ohio.gov and click on the links under
ANNOUNCEMENTS to earn 1 hour of Laws and
Keep the Board Updated Rules CE and 1 hour of Human Trafficking CE.
If you have any changes to your home or business 5688886888085 BHBBBD

contact information, please visit our website to file
your change online (click on the Licensees drop
down menu to access the form.)

Contact Us! %

You can also use this address change form to
provide your email address to the Board. The Send your questions, comments, concerns, etc.
Board will be migrating to a paperless licensure to: oscb.chirobd@chr.state.oh.us

and renewal system and you will be required to
provide an email address at that time. Your communication will be forwarded to the
appropriate staff member for reply.
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AP Certified Chiropractic
« Clinical Assistants

The Certified Chiropractic Clinical Assistant (CCCA)
is a program of the Federation of Chiropractic
Licensing Boards (FCLB) that provides national
training standardization for those who assist
chiropractic physicians in the provision of
therapeutic procedures. Program Details:

Eligibility:

e Atleast18yearsof age

e High school diploma or equivalent
e Good moral character

Initial Fees:
e $150 (includes exam, certificate, badge, and
first year of registration)

Education:

e 24 hours from a PACE provider -OR-

e 24 hours from another provider (subject to
review) -OR-

e 2,000 hours of experience

Exam:
e Online Exam (Created by the NBCE)

First Year:
e Earn 300 hours of practical clinical experience

Renewal:
e Everytwo years
e 6 hours of CE required

Benefits of CCCA certification:

v’ Establishes uniform standards for CAs

v Enhances the knowledge of CAs

v" Provides verifiable credentials and accountability
v Improves public protection.

CCCA Certification does not permit CAs to take x-rays.
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Please visit the Federation of Chiropractic
Licensing Board’s website at www.fclb.org and
click on the Chiro Assistants tab to learn more
about the CCCA program and to download the
CCCA Candidate Handbook.

CCCA information is provided for information
purposes only. Chiropractic Assistant licensure is
not required nor is it being contemplated.

License Required to take X-Rays*
The Ohio Department of Health requires any
individual who performs radiologic procedures,
including positioning patients and setting the
technique factors, to hold a valid Ohio radiologic
license.

*Licensed chiropractic physicians are exempt from x-
ray licensure.

Dept. of Health Contact Information:
Telephone: (614) 752-4319 Fax: (614) 466-0381
E-mail: BRadiation@odh.ohio.gov

REMINDER

The Board’s Unlicensed Personnel Rule (4734-8-02)
requires a chiropractic physician to be on the
premises when services are provided by a CA or
other unlicensed individual. Chiropractors are not
permitted to issue “standing orders” or be
“available by telephone” or otherwise direct care
when not on the premises.
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IDENTIFY
YOURSELF!

The Board is seeing an increase in advertising that
does not clearly reveal it is on behalf of a
chiropractic physician.

Most common reasons licensees commit this
violation:

1. Intentional concealment;
2. Unaware of the advertising requirements;

3. Believe they are not practicing chiropractic due
to advertising for non-typical chiropractic
services;

4. Think they are exempt from the Board's
advertising rules because they possess a
license, certificate or degree from a private
entity or another state.

None of these reasons are defensible. You must
clearly reveal you are a chiropractor in all
advertising. One of the following terms must be
included in all advertisements and used in such a
manner that the reader or listener understands
they will receive services from a chiropractor:

e chiropractic
e doctor of chiropractic
e chiropractor
e chiropractic physician

Do not put your license in jeopardy of disciplinary
action — clearly let the consumers of Ohio know
your professional license status in all forms of

advertising.

|

= Weight loss plans are regulated by
the state of Ohio. You must operate within
your scope of practice AND you must

identify yourself as a chiropractic physician
in any weight loss advertisement or

Qolicitation. /

PREPAYMENT PLANS

The Board investigates many complaints involving
prepayment for services and finds that most
prepayment plans do not fully comply with the
requirements of the prepayment plan rule. If you
accept prepayment for services, please review
Board Rule 4734-9-11 thoroughly to ensure your
plan is compliant.

. If you advertise through
Dally Groupon, Living Social, or
Deals similar marketing vendors

you may be violating the
Board’s fee splitting rule.

Fee splitting examples:

%% Paying for advertising or marketing services by
sharing a specified portion of your professional
fees collected from a consumer with the
vendor providing the advertising or marketing
services;

7% Advertising or marketing services via social
coupons if you allow the social site to:

1. collect your professional fees from the
consumer;

2. retain a defined percentage or portion of
the revenue collected as payment for the
coupon marketing services provided, and;

3. remit to you the remainder of the amount
collected.

Fee splitting is a complicated topic that not only
may violate the Board'’s law, but may also violate
federal law. If you have questions or concerns
about fee splitting, please consult with legal
counsel. The Board cannot provide legal advice or
legal guidance to licensees.

ww.chirobd.ohio.gov

Page 3



http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjQ_cebvqzNAhVBElIKHZcBDigQjRwIBw&url=http://www.clipartbro.com/categories/chiropractic-clip-art-clipart&bvm=bv.124272578,d.aXo&psig=AFQjCNH-EvPvGxGXb-R8xeHs4aRO_FbnJg&ust=1466164414576137
http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwi0yfSV-qrNAhUJTlIKHfCnAFcQjRwIBw&url=http://www.gograph.com/stock-illustration/weight-loss.html&bvm=bv.124272578,d.aXo&psig=AFQjCNELy7Juk73C6C3GN2d-aBWJKapQTQ&ust=1466111520185497

EDUCATION, TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE
It is each licensee’s responsibility to have the
education, training and experience necessary to
perform their duties within the scope of practice.
To make up for any lack of education in a particular
area for which you wish to practice, conduct
diligent research to seek out educational
opportunities from appropriate educational
providers so that you can practice within the
standard of care.
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All licensees are required to practice within the
prevailing standard of chiropractic care - failure to
do so can result in disciplinary action. Standard of
chiropractic care is not legally defined in Ohio law.
Below are excerpts from an article published in
Dynamic Chiropractic that explains standard of
care:

The term "standard of care" does not represent
guidelines; nor does it represent a "paint by
numbers" or "cookbook" methodology.

The legal definition of the chiropractic standard of
care may vary slightly from state to state, but the
essential concept is: "What a (licensed) prudent,
competent doctor of chiropractic in the same
region would do in the same or similar
circumstances." The chiropractic standard of care
represents conduct that has been established with
scientific, empirical, and/or clinical evidence.
Consensus opinions including such factors as how
widely used the form of treatment is, where it is
taught, and how appropriate it is for the
condition(s) upon which it is utilized are
considered. Case law can be applied to help legally
define specific aspects of the standard of care.

Ideally, the standard of care represents the safest
and most efficacious realm within which a
chiropractor should conduct himself or herself

professionally.

Michael Kohler, DC, CCSP, QME, Chiropractic’s Standard of Care (2005,
September 27) Retrieved from:
http://www.dynamicchiropractic.com/mpacms/dc/article.php?
id=50405

WOULD YOUR
DOCUMENTATION
WITHSTAND THE BOARD’S
SCRUTINY?

Unfortunately, not likely.

The Board reviews hundreds of patient files a year
for complaints and investigations. Rarely do these
records meet today’s documentation standards. In
most instances the investigation reveals no
findings against the doctor EXCEPT for
documentation issues. Common violations include:

£ [llegible records

£ Incomplete records

£ Lack of detail (such as where treatment or
therapy applied)

£ Unintelligible records (particularly when
using EMR software)

£ Duplicate notes for multiple visits

£ Records do not reflect the treating
physician

£ Too infrequent, or no re-evaluations

£ No comprehensive patient history

£ Patient vitals not recorded

Do not place your license in jeopardy over
documentation issues. Review your procedures
and take the necessary action to bring your records
up to standard.

UNDERSTANDING THE NEW CE
REQUIREMENTS

Comprehensive information and FAQs are posted
on the Board’'s website about the new CE
requirements.

Please visit the Board’'s website and click on the
Continuing Education tab to learn what you need
to do to earn acceptable CE to renew your license
in 2018.

ww.chirobd.ohio.gov
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