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On November 4, 2007 the rules
governing acupuncture will go into
effect.  These rules are the final phase
of full implementation of our new
acupuncture law.  Many thanks to the
Ohio State Chiropractic Association for
introducing this legislation and for
working so diligently to get it passed! 

Not only may you now practice
acupuncture, you are now permitted to
refer your patients to acupuncturists
licensed by the State Medical Board.  If
you choose to refer a patient to an
acupuncturist, you must comply with 
the supervision requirements outlined
in Ohio Revised Code Section 4762.   

Please keep in mind that in order to
practice acupuncture, you must
maintain a current and valid
chiropractic license.  If your chiropractic
license is not active or is suspended or
revoked, your acupuncture certificate
will likewise be inactivated, suspended 
or revoked. 

In general, the same Administrative
Rules apply to the practice of
acupuncture as do the practice of
chiropractic. 

Acupuncture Rules In Effect! 
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Here’s what you need to apply to be 
certified to practice acupuncture: 

 

 A current, valid chiropractic license 
issued by the Ohio State 
Chiropractic Board. 

 Transcript reflecting 300 hours of 
board-approved acupuncture 
training. 

 Transcript reflecting passage of the 
NBCE Acupuncture examination 
with a score of 375 or greater. 

 Completed application and $100 
fee. (Forms may be completed and 
downloaded from the Board’s 
website.) 

 

Since our law does not allow for 
grandfather certification, the Board will 
permit acupuncture training providers 
to accept transfer credit for hours you 
may have already earned. It is up to 
the provider to determine the hours that 
they will accept as transfer hours. 

Chiropractic Assistant Certification 
More and more third party payors are indicating that they will
only pay for therapies performed by certified personnel.  If your 
chiropractic assistants do not have formal training, you could
face denial of payment for the therapies they perform. 
 
The Ohio State Chiropractic Association has responded quickly
to this threat and is offering chiropractic assistant certification 
through DCOnline.  Chiropractic Assistants completing the
course will be certified by Palmer Chiropractic College.   
 
For more information contact the OSCA at www.oscachiro.org or 
1-800-837-6721. 
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“The Board will begin 
proposing discipline 
against doctors who 

violate the Board’s 
advertising and 
soliciting rule.”

Advertising & Solicitation – Is your license at risk? 

 
IMPORTANT NEW RULES 

  
This past July, each licensee was
mailed an “Administrative Rules 
Update” that outlined changes made
to rules that directly affect you and 
your practice, particularly in the area
of advertising and solicitation. 

Many doctors continue to fail to 
adhere to the new requirements 
outlined in the Advertising and 
Soliciting rule.

The Board will begin proposing 
discipline against doctors who violate 
the Board’s advertising and soliciting 
rule.  Many of your colleagues would 
advise you not to incur disciplinary 
action against your license.  The 
consequences may have a long term 
effect on you and may severely affect 
your third party contracts and/or 
reimbursement. 

Please pay particular attention to the
following newly enacted rules of the
Board.  A full copy of each rule is
enclosed. 

Sexual Misconduct 
This rule was completely rewritten to
provide brighter lines as to what conduct
constitutes sexual misconduct.  Please
review in its entirety.  Failure to abide by
the rule may lead to disciplinary action
against you. 
 
Universal Precautions 
If you perform any procedure in which
needles are utilized, you must abide by 
this rule.   
 
You must also abide by all local, state
and federal governmental laws regarding
disposal of used needles.  For more
information on these laws, contact the 
Ohio EPA at: 
 
 Ohio Environmental Protection Agency,
Division of Solid and Infectious Waste
Management at (614) 644-2621 or on the 
web at  www.epa.state.oh.us/dsiwm. 
 

 
 
 
 
Terminating the Doctor 
Patient Relationship  
 
This rule clearly spells out how to 
properly terminate your professional 
relationship with a patient, as well as 
the steps you must take if you should 
move, retire, close a practice, etc. 
 
In order to terminate your relationship 
with a patient you must mail a certified 
letter advising the patient of the 
following: 
 

 The doctor-patient relationship is 
terminated; 

 
 That you will provide services for 

up to 30 days from the date of the 
letter; 

 
 An offer to transfer the patient’s 

records to a new chiropractic 
physician. 

 
 

You are no longer required to put the initials D.C. after your name in
your advertisements and solicitations.  However, ALL advertisements 
and solicitations must include one of the following terms: 
Chiropractic, chiropractor, chiropractic physician or doctor of
chiropractic along with the name of a designated chiropractic
physician who has reviewed and approved the content of the
advertisement or solicitation. 
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FY’ 2007 Disciplinary Actions 

Disciplinary Actions 
are Permanently 
Maintained and are 
Public Record! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Below is a synopsis of the Board’s 
disciplinary actions for fiscal year 2007.

Conduct: Doctor admitted to being unable
to practice according to acceptable and
prevailing standards of care by reason of
mental illness and practiced, or claimed to 
be capable of practicing, beyond the
scope.  Disciplinary Action: Permanent 
Revocation. 

Conduct: Doctor made a false, fraudulent,
or deceitful statement to the board on his
license renewal application and utilized
fraud or deceit in procuring admission to
practice by failing to disclose a conviction
of third degree Assault on his application
for licensure. Disciplinary Action:
Reprimand. 

Conduct: Doctor provided a false address
to the Board on his license renewal
application and advertised a false address
on the World Wide Web. Disciplinary 
Action:  Seven day active suspension;
$2,000 fine; two years of probation. 

Conduct: Doctor convicted of a
misdemeanor of Public Indecency.
Disciplinary Action: Ten day suspension;
psychological assessment and evaluation. 

Conduct: Doctor advertised without an
active license; utilized poor documentation
procedures; failed to maintain a report of
x-ray findings; failed to meet the
components of a billed CPT Code; and
engaged in a professional relationship
with another chiropractic physician who
violated the Board’s laws and rules.
Disciplinary Action: Eight month
suspension; $1,000 fine; 12 hours of CE;
two years of probation. 

Conduct: Doctor convicted of one felony
count of Conspiracy to Commit Securities
Fraud and Commercial Bribery.
Disciplinary Action:  Six month stayed
suspension; $1,000 fine; one year
probation. 

Conduct:  Doctor practiced after January
1 without renewing his license and failed
to earn the required 24 hours of continuing
education. Disciplinary Action:  Two 
week suspension; $1,000 fine; Eighteen
month probation. 

Conduct:  Failure to pay child support. 
Disciplinary Action: License suspended.

Conduct: Doctor aided and abetted the 
unlicensed practice of chiropractic.
Disciplinary Action: Seven day 
suspension; $1,000 fine; 12 hours CE; 
one year probation. 

Conduct:  Doctor practiced acupuncture 
in violation of the chiropractic scope of
practice. Disciplinary Action: Thirty day 
stayed suspension; $250 fine. 

Conduct: Doctor convicted of one felony 
count of Health Care False Statements. 
Disciplinary Action:  Sixty day 
suspension; $2,000 fine; two year
probation; practice subject to Compliance
Program and Monitor. 

Conduct: Doctor convicted of three felony 
counts of Attempt to Evade and Defeat
Tax Due and Owing by Him to the United
States of America Disciplinary Action:
Three year suspension. 

 

 

The Board refused licensure or license 
reinstatement to three former licensees
based on the following: 

 

The doctor had been convicted of one
felony count of Possession of Marihuana
and one felony count of Funding of 
Marihuana Trafficking; did not possess the
proficiency or competency or the character 
and fitness to practice chiropractic in the 
state of Ohio. 

The doctor was convicted of two felony 
counts of Gross Sexual Imposition and did
not possess the character and fitness to 
practice chiropractic in the state of Ohio. 

The doctor did not possess the proficiency
or competency to practice chiropractic in 
the state of Ohio; was unable to practice
according to acceptable and prevailing
standards of care due to mental illness; 
and failed to earn 24 hours of continuing
education. 
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New York Chiropractic College, in 
conjunction with the International
Academy of Medical Acupuncture,
Inc., will be offering two acupuncture 
education opportunities beginning
January 19-20 and April 12-13, 
2008.  Classroom education will be
held in Columbus at a location to be
announced.   

With the inclusion of acupuncture
in our law and the numerous
changes made to our rules this
year, please take the time to
review and download a copy of
the current laws and rules!  They 
are available on our newly
redesigned website at: 

www.chirobd.ohio.gov 

Included with this Newsletter is your 
2008 License Renewal Application and
instructions for renewal. 
 
Please keep the following in mind
when renewing your license: 
 

 Complete your application entirely
and legibly.   

 
 Mail your application early. 

 
 There is no grace period for late 

renewal! 
 
 
We are pleased to offer the option of
paying your license renewal fee via
Visa or Mastercard.   

Print the Laws & Rules on Our Redesigned Website! 

2008 LICENSE RENEWAL       Changing The 
Credit Cards Now Accepted!      Rules 
 

Visa 
And 

Mastercard 
 

Now Accepted! 
 

For more information, contact: 
 

International Academy of Medical 
Acupuncture 

 
800-327-1113 

www.IAMA.edu  
acupuncture@IAMA.Edu 

 

Failure to abide by the new rules of 
the Board may result in disciplinary 
action.  Download a copy of the laws 
and rules today! 

We recently updated our website to 
provide more information to address 
your needs.  Please take a few 
minutes to review our website.  We’d 
appreciate your feedback! 

The administrative rules governing 
chiropractic directly affect YOU.  The 
purpose of mailing you a notice of the 
Board’s intent to change rules is to 
provide you the opportunity to offer input 
into the changes.  In fact, the Board is 
required by law to advise you of any 
proposed new rules, changes or 
rescissions and allow you to submit 
opponent or proponent testimony. 

Many of you contacted the Board office 
to voice your opinion on certain changes 
made to our rules AFTER the changes 
were effectuated.   

This is one of the many reasons why it 
is important that you thoroughly read 
any communication you receive from 
the Board!  

We’re on the Web! 
www.chirobd.ohio.gov 

 

Board Approved Acupuncture Education 


